I Waited in the Cold for Versace for H&M

Versace for H&M

Yes. I waited in the cold. Mostly out of intrigue.  I had no idea what I was getting myself into.

I’ve never been a fan of Versace; he doesn’t design for me (a more serious, less daring person–although only in clothing style). Versace designs usually lack the classic element that I look for in the labels that I love.  I am very picky with the designs I invest in. Versace is bold and busy; I love boldness but rarely feel comfortable in busy.  However, there is still an artistry in the designs that is worth my admiration. Plus, Versace is iconic, and I cannot deny that.

The Versace for H&M collection came out Nov. 19th. I got to the Metro Center store in DC at 7 AM and thought that I was going way too early. How can somebody stand in line hours in the cold for H&M? Well, had I done my research or read the blog post-Versace for H&M by Take An Intermission, I would’ve known that all of their designer events are a huge deal. By the time I got there, the line circled the block and the bracelets that determined what time you were allowed in to see the collection had already been handed out  (people actually started getting in line the afternoon before!).  This meant that I would be able to go into the store when they opened at 8AM but I would not be able to shop Versace until 1PM. Bummer.

A sneak peak of the collection (and the determined shoppers).

I stayed for a while with my friend just in case there was a chance to get in before the assigned time but it was useless. By 9AM the men’s collection and the women’s accessories were sold out.  I kept seeing people come out of the store with huge bags full of stuff and kept asking myself: if you have that much cash and love Versace that much why don’t you splurge on a few original pieces rather than by the whole H&M line?

Turns out, a lot of people there were buying to sell. Freaking genius. The famous Versace leather (pleather) jacket was selling for $600 bucks on eBay! I can buy a real leather jacket for that price, what is the big deal?  I love designer fashion but mostly I love their quality and craftsmanship. I am sure this line is beautifully made, but does the cost justify the quality?

Take An Intermission writer wrote in her blog: “Will I be there? Honestly, probably not. Lol… as much as I would love to get my hand on some of those items, priorities (code for “Work”) always takes prevalence. I could go on my lunch break, but I’m pretty sure everything will be gone.”

I have some inside advice for you. Go now, there was so much impulsive buying that day (since customers are only allowed 15 mins to see the collection) that this week returns must be pouring in. In fact, I heard from an employee that through returns is how employees get to buy these special collections. Don’t count on getting your hands on the leather jacket though; any smart cookie will be selling that on eBay for a huge profit.

The closest I got to Versace for H&M was the store front.

Leave a Reply

